National CASA Standards & Self Assessment Process

National CASA Standards

The National CASA Association (NCASA) sets standards that member programs must meet in order to remain in good standing.

From the NCASA website:

The goal of our local and state standards is to establish requirements that we believe will assure quality while allowing individual organizations room for creativity and innovation. Administrative and program staff must weigh how to create efficiencies and effectiveness to arrive at the highest quality advocacy on behalf of the children they serve, related to their models, governing structure and legislated constraints.  It is expected that programs make decisions related to best practices with continual reflection and evaluation of outcomes for children.

A set of quality standards to measure a program’s operations demonstrate that an organization:
  • Respects and protects the children it serves
  • Utilizes established policies and procedures necessary for effective management
  • Manages its financial affairs prudently and is committed to the principles of public disclosure
  • Continually evaluates its services and operations
Our standards provide a framework for quality program management. They define the most effective overall approach to manage a particular aspect of program operation as well as requirements to operationalize the overall standard by specifying the practices that carry out the intent.

Visit the NCASA website for more on this topic.

Related Documents

2012 Standards for Local Programs
Explanation of Revisions to 2012 Standards

Quality Assurance Program

A primary goal and guiding principle of the quality assurance system is to strengthen organizations and ultimately support their efforts to provide high quality child advocacy and achieve the maximum level of excellence.  The National CASA Self-Assessment tools, one for state organizations and another for local programs, are used to measure compliance with standards.  Each state organization and local program participates in the self-assessment process once every four years.

2012 Self-Assessment Questions
2012 Indicators of Compliance Checklist
Self-Assessment Submission Instructions

Share by: